29
Mar
06

Why Christians Shouldn’t Pursue Prosperity

"In my experience, 95% of the believers who face the test of persecution pass it, while 95% who face the test of prosperity fail it."

-A Romanian pastor who survived the Iron Curtain 

(excerpted from Money, Possessions, and Eternity by Randy Alcorn p.46) 

5 Responses to “Why Christians Shouldn’t Pursue Prosperity”


  1. April 6, 2006 at 6:53 am

    Good stuff, Kat. The facts remain that Jesus talked more about wealth and the abuse thereof than he did about any one other single ethical issue. I think we’d be wise to remember that. Thanks for the post.

  2. April 17, 2006 at 3:56 am

    Have you guys read “Rich Christians in an Age of Hunger”? Great book on the whole subject. Recently updated for it’s anniversary release (20th??)

    I’m working on a book proposal for a book called The Purchase Driven Life. if you guys have any more great source material – books, quotes, stats etc – pass it on. Much obliged.

    SG

  3. 3 Kat
    April 17, 2006 at 2:13 pm

    I’m still waiting my turn to read the Randy Alcorn book. The quote above is just a nugget that my husband shared with me while he was reading the other night.

    I’ll have to add “Rich Christians in and Age of Hunger” to my list.

    I’ll be on the lookout for resources for you.

    Thanks for commenting, guys.

  4. April 19, 2006 at 6:32 am

    I haven’t read the book yet ,but I’ll certainly pick it up. And I love the idea for the book. Some friends of mine recently got back from missions in India. They said a lot of stuff that was great, but one thing stuck with me. They said that one lesson they learned was about living with those people in a way that truly didn’t stick out. They didn’t need everything they brought. They didn’t need half of what they thought they did. They didn’t need to go to the cafe for a drink just because they could afford to. Ouch. I’ll never forget that last sentence. I’ll dig up some good resources for you, man.

  5. 5 Kat
    April 21, 2006 at 7:41 pm

    “They didn’t need to go to the cafe for a drink just because they could afford to.”

    I like that sentence. It’s really amazing how little we need and how much we want…


Leave a Reply

