21
Apr
06

Inspired By The Dixie Chicks…

The Dixie Chicks, famous for lead singer Natalie Maines untimely and perhaps unpatriotic comments as our country was on the verge of war, have a new album out and the first single give me chills and inspires me to no end.

Mind you, I don't necessarily agree with their point of view, but passion and conviction inspires me and if this new single is anything, it's passionate and full of conviction. Here are a few lines:

I've paid a price and I'll keep paying it

I'm not ready to make nice

I'm not ready to back down

I'm still mad as hell and

I don't have time to go round and round and round

It's too late to make it right

I probably wouldn't if I could

'Cause I'm mad as hell

Can't bring myself to do what it is that you think I should

Wow. Maybe I'm naive. Maybe I don't know the whole story, but am SO moved by uncomfortable and unashamed honesty and if you are to, listen to the whole song at their web site.

I'd really like to know what you all think about this song. Shaun? Cach?

4 Responses to “Inspired By The Dixie Chicks…”


  1. April 21, 2006 at 10:36 pm

    I’m with you. What if we didn’t filter ourselves so much? It’s not so much about trying to tick people off as it is not being afraid to totally be ourselves and say what we think. It’s an odd thing though. Can we express ourselves without stressing about making sure we’re understood? I have trouble with it. I don’t have any trouble expressing myself, but I can’t even resist italicizing something every time I write just to make sure people know which words I would stress if I were speaking them! It is very inspiring to hear or read something that you know is the absolute core of what someone thinks or believes.

  2. April 22, 2006 at 12:34 am

    As for the song in question, I actually really like it. Completely apart from the discussion about her comments and their timing, I absolutely agree with her sentiment in this song. I can relate too. It’s actually a pretty powerful song about forgiveness. It makes the act of forgiveness a truly powerful thing when cast in this light. I thought from day one that the response to her comments was horribly inappropriate. To threaten her? To say hateful ugly things about her just because she popped off and said something stupid? It’s not right. And it is just a bit ironic that country fans want her to get that unpatriotic filth out of her mouth and get back to singing about the holy trinity of country music: cheatin’, drinkin’, and leavin’.

  3. 3 Kat
    April 22, 2006 at 7:38 am

    “get back to singing about the holy trinity of country music: cheatin’, drinkin’, and leavin’.”

    What a great point! That’s hilarious.

  4. 4 Kat
    April 22, 2006 at 7:49 am

    As far as expressing ourselves and worrying about being understood, I’ve been thinking a lot about that lately, especially as a Christian.

    This blog is called the “Secret Life of Kat” because only my husband knows it exists. I don’t send the link to all my friends or family. I love having this place to express all my thoughts and questions without worrying about the fact that I’m a small group leader at my church and I don’t want to make anyone stumble.

    At the same time, there’s such a lack of honesty in the Church and Christian circles. I can’t figure out where the line is. I feel passionately that there needs to be more honesty and openness in the Church, but the whole “millstone around my neck” passage in the Bible is a bit daunting.

    I so want the women in my small group to talk deeply and ask questions that we don’t already have packaged answers for (a rare thing in the Church, it seems) and really challenge each other, but I have such a great responsibility as a leader and I just don’t know where the balance is between protecting them and prodding them to greater things.


Leave a Reply

