26
Apr
06

A Vacation Is Being Able To Go To The Bathroom Alone

This is what my life has come to. I no longer envy people with nice houses, cool cars or hip clothes. I just desire the simple things in life. I want to go to the bathroom by myself.

All of my children are very young and have either potty trained within the last year or are in the midst of it. So, to them, the bathroom is some kind of enchanting mystery land where they get stickers, praises and promises of treats.

For me, it was a place of solitude – until I had kids. Now, when I mention that I'm going to make a quick trip to the bathroom, I have a house full of small people who consider that an invitation.

"Can I come?" 

"I want to come!" 

"Me come potty! Me come potty!"

I did just say bathroom right? Not Disneyland, pizza parlor or playground. I don't get it.

So, while I cherish these years with my kids, I do long for the days when I'll be able to go to the bathroom without a cheering section. "Yeah Mommy! You did it! You went pee-pee!" 

4 Responses to “A Vacation Is Being Able To Go To The Bathroom Alone”


  1. April 26, 2006 at 6:25 pm

    That’s freaking hilarious.

    We just potty trained puppies and I’m still waiting for my treat when I poopoo outside. My wife doesn’t think it’s very cute though.

  2. 2 Kat
    April 27, 2006 at 1:44 pm

    Glad you liked it. I’m just trying to spread the laughter. I confess that after your Babies on the Highway post , I’m not sure if I should chuckle or swerve when I see a bag on the road.

  3. April 27, 2006 at 11:38 pm

    Yeah… I’m going to have to continue that story because apparently, you’re not the only one I’ve given a complex to. I’ll elaborate later. And nice work on the funny. Pass it on, girl. Love it.


Leave a Reply

