01
May
06

The Longest Comment In the History of Mankind

I just posted the longest comment in the history of mankind over at Shlog. I even tried to be concise. He just asked the most loaded question anyone could ask me. Hopefully, I won't be banned from Shlogdom….

9 Responses to “The Longest Comment In the History of Mankind”


  1. 1 Seth Ward
    May 1, 2006 at 11:08 pm

    Hey, I loved that post. I probably got 4 or 5 ideas from it alone. Hey, btw, if you get a chance could you turn that wise-eye of yours towards our website and offer any suggestions you would like? http://www.fivecentstand.com

  2. May 1, 2006 at 11:31 pm

    I saw it, and it was dynamite. You just gave away information for free that somebody somewhere will probably shamelessly copy, thicken it up to book size with meaningless additional minutiae, and sell for a lot of money.

    You’re a gifted writer and clearly have some very well-organized ideas about how to approach the subject. Kudos and God Bless.

  3. May 2, 2006 at 1:18 am

    I believe I said it best:

    “Kat = Rock Star.”

  4. 4 Kat
    May 2, 2006 at 8:05 am

    Awww….thanks. I actually lost some sleep over whether I should delete the comment or not because it was SO long. I was sure I broke every rule of blog commenting decorum. I’m glad it’s been so well received.

    Sure, I’d be happy to check out your site, Seth. If you don’t hear from me by the end of the week – bug me.

    Thanks for visiting my site and for the nice words “Chaotic Hammer.” What’s the story behind that name?

    Cach – “Rock Star” – I like it. – It may go to my head.

  5. May 2, 2006 at 12:53 pm

    Kat – A few years back, I was playing the drums in a hard rock band. We played a “battle of the bands” show at a local club, and one of the reviewers for a local paper said that my drumming “rode over the music like a chaotic hammer”. We honestly couldn’t tell by the other content of the review if he meant this in a good way or a bad way. I’d say the gist of the review was that we were “loud and in your face”, but the whole article came across sort of like a creative high-schooler tasked with writing a review for the very first time, and trying to use lots of words he had just learned.

    So anyway, the other band members got a kick out of it, and started calling me “The Chaotic Hammer” after that (even during on-stage introductions at subsequent shows), and I guess I eventually took a liking to it.

    These days, I haven’t played the drums in over a year. I moved from California to Tennessee about a year ago, and my drums are still stored away in boxes.

  6. 6 Seth Ward
    May 3, 2006 at 1:15 pm

    Did you really lose sleep over the length of that comment? Have you read some of the small novels that I have shamelessly left. I have tried to cut back lately because I tend to talk too much. Also, reading his blog and Alan’s blog, (along with a few others) and commenting was one of the big things that kept me from smoking. I replaced my smoke breaks with Blogging. (and yes i did successfully quit) So the comments tended to run on just like this one is in danger of doing. Anyway,

    Cheers

  7. 7 Kat
    May 3, 2006 at 1:47 pm

    Chaotic Hammer – fun story. Knowing your a drummer makes your name very cool. I’m not a drummer, but I’d take the name as a compliment. Sounds cool to me!

    Seth, I did lose some sleep. Not too much, but I did dream that I tried to access Shlog and I got this HUGE error message on my computer that said ACCESS DENIED!!!!!

    I’ve never noticed your posts being exceptionally long. Do you still read Alan’s blog? I haven’t in awhile. Any good stuff going on over there? Nevermind. I’ll go check it out myself.

    Congrats on quitting smoking! I’ve heard that’s crazy hard to do. Who would have thought blogging would be the answer?

  8. May 3, 2006 at 3:22 pm

    It’s a blogging miracle!

  9. 9 Seth Ward
    May 3, 2006 at 3:28 pm

    Well, it was the doing-something-inbetween-things part that was hard to quit for me. But it needed to happen. Blogging was perfect because it kept not only my mind busy but my fingers as well.

    Can you believe that I was not a regular smoker until I went to Baylor!! I had to wait to go to a Christian university to get pulled into that nasty habit. I also have to give my wife most of the credit for my quitting. I am sure that her prayers were the primary factor in helping me kick the habit.

    No I haven’t been by Alan’s blog lately, he quit updating frequently. but now that you mention it, I’ll drop by there again to see whats up.

    Cheers


Leave a Reply

