04
May
06

The Million Dollar Question

The Cachinnator posed a question over at Shlog (did I really just write that? Is that English?) that has been bouncing around in my head. 

"Why aren't we the boldest leaders and the most attractive engaging artists in the world?"

Jesus was. Why aren't we?  

I'm just thinking out loud here, but I wonder if part of it is that we've created such a secure subculture for ourselves and such a specific desciption of what a Christian does or does not look, act, sound, dress, speak or live like that we've often surpressed or alienated many of those whom God have truly gifted with creativity or leadership. I'm not a music historian, but stories of Bob Dillon spring to my mind here and maybe Bono.

Those are just some of my thoughts. What are yours?

4 Responses to “The Million Dollar Question”


  1. May 8, 2006 at 9:02 am

    Jesus wasn’t.

    People routinely walked away form him: unattractive.

    People routinely didn’t understand what his parables meant: unengaging.

    Not saying we shouldn’t try to be engaging or attractive to certain degrees; but it’s looking at Jesus too optimistically to say he was either all the time to most people.

    He just wasn’t.

    SG

  2. 2 Kat
    May 8, 2006 at 1:44 pm

    Good thoughts Shaun.

    I don't necessarily equate attractive and engaging with popular.

    If people walked away from Him, they had to have been drawn to Him in the first place. He attracted crowds by the thousands. He was so attractive that people tore apart roofs to listen to him and he even had to escape the crowds on occassion. Of course, not everyone who came to see Him agreed with him or even understood him, but they were drawn to Him.

    I think that the fact that people didn't understand the parables is the best example of just how engaging He was, because they stuck around. I think He was engaging because He didn't offer a middle ground. When people met him or heard Him they were faced with a decision. He stated who He was and they had to decide what they believed. The Bible is filled with stories of people who loved or hated him, but I can recall none who were indifferent.

    If we as believers spent less time *trying* to be attractive and engaging and just focused on God and the things He calls us to do, whether or not they are popular, we *would* be more attactive and engaging. Again, not necessarily in the popular sense.

    No one is attracted to lukewarm. People are attracted to passion and conviction.

    Just my take. I was wondering if we were on the same page, but I just wasn't clear in my post what I meant by attractive and engaging. Thoughts?

  3. May 8, 2006 at 5:26 pm

    Excellent thoughts, Kat. I’m processing.


Leave a Reply

