05
May
06

The Revolution of a Good Little Southern Baptist Girl

I love sports. I play soccer and I run…infrequently. One of my favorite feelings in the world is that sore, achey, stiff feeling in your body after you’ve pushed yourself too hard – for too long. I know. I’m weird. But I just love knowing that I went one step farther than I thought I could. I love to push myself and find out that what I thought was my all – wasn’t.

The superstars of our world are those who pushed themselves beyond what anyone thought they could do. Record breaking athletes. Ground breaking artists. They didn’t seek comfort. They knew that “comfort” is where the average reside. They didn’t seek comfort. They sought revolution.

This verse has been hopping around in my head lately:

“Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to His power that is at work within us, to Him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.”

-Ephesians 20-21

Wow. God is more than I could ask or imagine. Let’s say that again, together:

God is more than I could ask or imagine.

Honestly, my version of God hasn’t been that big. My version of God has had more to do with what others have said He does and who others have said He is. My God has been – comfortable.

I’m ready to change that. I’m ready to believe that God is bigger than I’d ever imagined.

I have no idea where that will take me or what I’m supposed to do. I’ll still cook dinner tonight and mop the floor, but inside, I feel the rumblings of a revolution. An overthrow of all the spoonfed, preconceived notions and limitations I’ve had of God.

I’m ready to imagine and I’m ready to ask.

———-

8 Responses to “The Revolution of a Good Little Southern Baptist Girl”


  1. May 5, 2006 at 6:08 pm

    Wow. Big stuff. I’ll pray for you about it. I agree with you that all too often our concept of God is waaaaay too small. I think change is possible, and a bigger picture become a reality when we allow ourselves to have been wrong, perhaps even for all of our lives up until this very moment, about some of the beliefs and thoughts we’ve held the tightest. As soon as God can say and be anything He needs or desires to be in our lives, anything, then I think we’ve got a shot at growth.

  2. 2 Seth Ward
    May 5, 2006 at 7:06 pm

    Beautiful Kat. I needed to hear that today.

    Seth

  3. May 5, 2006 at 11:15 pm

    Kat – Amazing.

    I’ve been feeling the same thing lately, and it’s increasing. It’s a sense of awe and helplessness and surrender to whatever the Lord wants to do, accompanied by a distinct sense that nothing I am, and nothing in me, can effect the changes that need to occur in my life.

    It’s a clear and sobering awareness that I’ve had many past failures; but it’s also a strong and distinct sense that the Lord really is moving in our midst, and it really is different this time, and what’s occurring is much bigger than we’ve been willing to imagine.

    It’s the very ground beneath our feet moving, and nothing nearby to hold onto. And He is going to do what He will, so we’d better just learn to let go and prepare to be amazed.

  4. 4 Kat
    May 6, 2006 at 8:57 pm

    Exactly, Hammer. And if I might add to that – a deep desire to be a part of it rather than a spectator.

  5. 5 FancyPants
    May 7, 2006 at 8:39 am

    Kat, since I am new to the blogging world, I haven’t had much interaction with your blogs. But one thing I have noticed in your blogs and comments is your beautiful teachable spirit. Your vulnerability to God is apparent, and your post is inspiring. You are a great person in a great place. Asking questions is hard, especially asking questions to God. Because there’s a bit of an insecurity in them, not in God, but in what you believed to be God. God is the same yesterday, today, and forever. His love remains for you as strong as it ever was, and He’s big enough for this. Exciting stuff, can’t wait to read all about it.

  6. 6 Kat
    May 7, 2006 at 8:00 pm

    Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts, FP. I’m so encouraged by your comment. I’m excited about what God’s been doing in my life and in my husband’s life this past year or so. It’s a slow burn revolution, but we’re starting to see some sparks. I think that God has given both of us an increasing desire to be teachable and I think that’s really laid a foundation for all that we’ve been learning lately.

  7. May 8, 2006 at 11:06 am

    so great to read this today. I too am a mom who has to mop up this cheerios today, or sweep rather, but I like to push myself even in that. i like to see how fast I can do housework and burn as many calories as possible. gives me some satisfaction. I also loved what you had to say about God. It is great to keep searching for Him through all of the different times in our lives, even though right now, I don’t understand where he is taking me. I am learning to trust. one more question. which pride and prejudice movie? I love the 6 hour A and E version.

  8. 8 Kat
    May 9, 2006 at 4:12 pm

    Operamama,
    Did I mention pride and prejudice in another post? I must have, I just don’t remember the context. I saw the Kiera Knightly one. I really liked it. There were a couple times when I think the editor and cinematographer must have gotten into a scuffle and the cinematographer won, but other than that, it was great.

    I have yet to see the A&E version. I searched for it, but it doesn’t seem that anyone here in town has it. I did just find out that a friend has it, so as soon I have have 6 free hours, I’m going to watch it. Perhaps 2010?


Leave a Reply

