10
May
06

On A Lighter Note: I FEEL The Power…

My blogs have been pretty heavy lately. I guess that coincides with the fact that my thoughts have been pretty heavy. Makes sense.

So, on a lighter note I thought I'd write about the fun stats page that is built into the blogs over here at WordPress.com. Yup, the grass really is greener. On my stats page I can see how many hits I get each day in a nice little chart format. There's another chart that shows how many people are accessing my RSS feed through a feed reader. I love watching those adorable little numbers go up, up, up. Everytime my stats hit a new high, I do a cute little dance.

I'm such a nerd.

So, the big point of this entry is that even though I've been blogging regularly for a mere month or so, I have a Google page rank of 5 AND if you type in any of the following terms, I come up on the first page of results:

  • Dixie Chicks Blog
  • articles on rise up and shake off the dust
  • bathroom kat

Because you, my readers, are so special to me, I saved the best for last. Before I tell you the great news, let me say thank you. Thank you for being a part of my grand blog. Thank you, my little people, for elevating my on your linked shoulders. We can all rejoice together that this humble little blog comes up FIRST, Numero Uno, Primero on that grand daddy search engine that is Google for the following phrase:

  • will graham crackers help you go to the bathroom

Thank you for making this possible. Yes, we are just above the "Constipation in Children" website.

Wow. Don't you just feel proud?

17 Responses to “On A Lighter Note: I FEEL The Power…”


  1. May 10, 2006 at 11:42 pm

    Each of the following also comes up first in the Google rankings. You can actually put these in Google and hit the “I’m Feeling Lucky” button and be magically transported back here to Kat’s blog:

    you’re a baptist girl I will stuff my pockets with

    i’ve got the longest diaper shlog in the history of mankind

    a vacation in suburbia is like a shlog in my diaper

    shaun groves has a wedgie and it has been extremely revolutionary

  2. 2 Kat
    May 10, 2006 at 11:46 pm

    Oh. My. Goodness!!!!!!! That is hilarious…

    You have SO sidetracked me from what I got on my computer to do….

    How did you find those?

  3. May 11, 2006 at 12:09 am

    Too much free time, perhaps?

    It seems like Google struggles a little with contractions. The first two phrases are sort of hit-and-miss for me, unless I enter them without the apostrophe. Strange.

  4. 4 Seth Ward
    May 11, 2006 at 11:35 am

    OMG how are you internet brainiacs figuring this out. I want a funny embarrasing quote about shaun groves to lead to my sight… come on tell me tell me tell me.

    On another note, I sympathize with you about writing heavy blogs. Sometimes the urge to gripe is overwhelming. You want people to come to your blog but you can’t bring yourself to write about things just because they are “hot topics”

    You become one step up from Rush Limbaugh (who i happen to find detestable and extremely entertaining at the same time) Life is already heavy enough as is. One of the reasons I love this blog and Cach’s blog is that I can come most of the time and poke fun at myself or others in a good-humored manner and then at the same time give me something profound or meaningful to think about during the day. A breath of fresh air really.

    Thank you my friend. btw, i fully intend on responding to your latest and greatest informative emial, my wife and I think you are the bomb.com

  5. 5 Kat
    May 11, 2006 at 1:27 pm

    Thanks Seth. My brain is a pretty diverse place. I like to think deeply, but at the same time I love to laugh, so hopefully this blog is just a reflection of that.

    By the way, has your wife schooled you in raquetball yet? Being the wife ofa wonderfully sweet, yet smack talking, husband, all I have to say is: Go Amber!!!

  6. May 11, 2006 at 3:55 pm

    Seth – As far as how to get weird phrases to lead to your web site, there’s really no particular secret. Google (and any other web search tool) has a continuously running program, called a crawler or spider, that follows links and indexes the contents of web pages. So when people enter search terms that match the content of web pages, those pages appear on the search results page.

    In Google’s case, it’s a very closely guarded (and continuously refined) secret knowing what their ranking criteria are, but as long as pages aren’t trying to blatantly overload themselves with certain words or phrases just to get increased hits, then pretty much anything on one of your pages will eventually be indexed (assuming you are linked with other pages).

    It’s mind boggling really — knowing how much content is on the web and how much is added daily — that something like Google is so fast and accurate with its results. In all fairness, within a few days, the spider will have visited this Comments page, and the phrases I entered will be indexed verbatim, rather than just by random word association (i.e. I created random phrases from words that were already together on Kat’s pages).

    Once you know how this stuff works, it’s just cheesy slight-of-hand.

  7. May 11, 2006 at 4:01 pm

    Oops. Sleight-of-hand. And I don’t think it’s supposed to be hyphenated.

    Sleight of hand.

    Don’t worry, I only play grammar nazi with my own stuff, not other people’s.

  8. 8 Kat
    May 11, 2006 at 4:22 pm

    Oh good. Because I’m terrible with. Grammar.

  9. May 11, 2006 at 4:58 pm

    Oh grammar nazis… please observe the gift I’m giving my English teacher mother for Mother’s Day here.

    And guys, seriously, hilarious stuff.

  10. May 12, 2006 at 1:13 am

    Oh, there is a major schooling coming Seth’s way. In raquetball, that is. I’ve already had to “school” him in other things, like putting up the cereal, replacing the toilet paper, and yes, using the dirty clothes hamper. Does your smack talking husband also forget where the cereal goes? I just don’t get it. =-)

  11. 11 Kat's Husband
    May 12, 2006 at 4:31 pm

    Cereal is important to me. I always remember where it goes.

  12. May 13, 2006 at 1:45 pm

    =-) Good to know, Kat’s husband. I will remind Seth to evaluate his priorities.

  13. May 25, 2006 at 7:22 pm

    Hey. Do italics work here in wordpress?

  14. May 25, 2006 at 7:23 pm

    Oops, sorry. Pay no attention to the idiot in the previous comment.

  15. May 25, 2006 at 7:42 pm

    Everything works here at WordPress. Come on over. The grass really is greener.

    Comment RSS feeds
    Comment email notification
    Easy blog rolls
    Built in stats
    Set post dates for future blog entries
    Easily import your blogger account

  16. May 26, 2006 at 4:03 pm

    Can you enable “Previewing” on your blog Comments section? I like to proofread and check formatting before posting, but can’t seem to do that on WordPress.

    (Maybe it’s just me that likes that function)

    Is WordPress a Christian-run company (hence the word “Word” in the title)? Or is that just a coincidence, and they’re trying to play on the fact that blogs are full of words?

  17. May 26, 2006 at 7:23 pm

    Hammer,
    I inadvertently mentioned this on another post, but no, there’s no comment previewing on this version of wordpress.

    I don’t think it’s Christian company. I think it is more of a “play on words.”

    -kat


Leave a Reply

