14
May
06

Mother’s Day Redeemed

Mother's Day was always my least favorite holiday. I dreaded seeing all the sappy commercials and newspaper ads with the idyllic pictures of moms and daughters. I didn't like watching all the other families celebrate their moms.

I never knew my mother. She died when I was only a few months old. I never knew what it was like to have a my mom fix my hair. I never dressed up in her clothes as a little girl. I never had an argument with her and I never gave her a hug.

In my mind I had the perfect mother, though. I put together the bits and pieces that my dad and grandparents shared about her and wove that together with my own dreams. She was beautiful and gracious. She loved Jesus and her family. She was kind and gentle and giving. She could sing like an angel.

She does sing like an angel…

Isn't it funny how someone I never knew has shaped so much of who I am? A mother's impact in her child's life is profound.

All my life I thought I'd never know the mother-daughter relationship. It always seemed like such a mystery to me. I was always the outsider looking in and dreaming. I'd see mothers and daughters talking or shopping or playing together and I was so jealous.

Not anymore. I'm the mother now and Mother's Day is my favorite holiday. I love the extra hugs and kisses. I love having a whole day to be thankful for my girls. I love having a reason to celebrate.

Nothing has seemed like such a sweet gift from God as this gift of my precious little girls. It's as if He saw me growing up and finding Mother's day to be so bittersweet, and He was whispering to me, "Just wait, my girl. Have I got something special for you. Just wait."

5 Responses to “Mother’s Day Redeemed”


  1. May 14, 2006 at 4:06 pm

    Beautiful, Kat. I hope you enjoy this day like no other. Now turn off this computer and go hug some little girls!

  2. May 14, 2006 at 6:48 pm

    Wow. Awesome, Kat.

    It’s apparent from all your writings how much you savor the good things you have. Thanks for being willing to share this with us.

    Happy Mother’s Day!

  3. 3 Kat
    May 14, 2006 at 8:54 pm

    Thanks guys. It’s been a wonderful Mother’s Day.

    I got tons of kisses and hugs, my husband and girls took me shopping and my little girls and I watched “Amy Grant Headin’ Home for the Holidays” (all those 80’s clothes make it just about as entertaining and colorful as The Wiggles) while my husband cooked my favorite meal.

    What a precious day.

  4. May 14, 2006 at 10:13 pm

    wow, you make me want to be a better mom. I love that you have a deep endearing picture of your mother, and how you have painted that. God Bless you.

  5. 5 FancyPants
    May 14, 2006 at 11:01 pm

    Thanks for sharing this beautiful post, Kat. Happy Mother’s Day, and Happy every day after that spent with your sweet girls.


Leave a Reply

