16
May
06

Come And Listen…

I was listening to the David Crowder Band today and there's a song in which he sings:

"Come and listen. Come and listen to what He's done."

So I thought we could do that. Let's talk about what He's done.

My story is profoundly simple, but I think it speaks of the tender heart of God.

My little girl sleeps with a stuffed monkey. She adores her stuffed monkey, whom she has creatively named, "monkey". About a month ago, monkey disappeared. We could not find him anywhere. We turned the house upside down.

Every nap and every bedtime, we'd ask her if she wanted another animal, but she didn't want to sleep with anyone but monkey. I even tried to give her my old teddy bear, but she just said, "Thank you Mommy, but he's not my monkey."

She was pretty sad, but she was being brave.

A few days after monkey's disappearance, we were reading a little devotional book and suddenly in the middle of the story, she said, "Mommy! God's the only one who knows where monkey is. Maybe we should pray that God will help us find monkey."

I told her that was a great idea and she proceeded to pray the sweetest little prayer.

Now, we had been looking for days and had turned the house upside down and we couldn't find monkey, but just a little while after her simple prayer, my husband was cleaning up our room and randomly decided to look in a drawer that we NEVER put anything in. Low and behold, there was monkey.

When my daughter saw him, she said, "God helped us find monkey!"

He has the power to calm the raging seas with a word. He holds the keys to life and death. And He cares about my little girl's stuffed monkey.

What an amazing God we serve.

This is my simple story of the goodness of God. What's yours?

5 Responses to “Come And Listen…”


  1. May 16, 2006 at 1:45 am

    What a SWEET story. The prayer of a child is a wonder. I think if a child prays for something, you can pretty much count on it happening. If I ever get sick, there is no one I would rather pray for me than a child. Purity of heart and faith. It is like a bottle of 100-proof faith.

    If you want my most recent story of God’s goodness just click on the old blog and look at the pic. It only took me 3 days of prayer for them to turn up.

    I think that sometimes we think that God does not care about small things that we need. A good nights sleep, fun day at the park with family, good conversation, a lost stuffed monkey, MY KEYS, but He does.

    On a side note, It is strange to think that every fiber, every atom, electron in that Stuffed monkey is held together by the mind and will of God.

  2. May 16, 2006 at 11:53 am

    thanx for your story. lately i have been experiencing some sadness in my life, and thankfully, to hear stories like that help me to remember that God does listen, love, and care for each of us personally.

  3. 3 Kat
    May 16, 2006 at 3:54 pm

    Seth, I can’t imagine how relieved you were when you found your…..click here to find out what Seth found.

    I’ve heard a lot about Imogen Heap. I have yet to give her a good listen. I’ll have to do that soon. That’s awesome that you got to see her live.

    Operamom, one of my favorite passages is Psalm 18. I think it shows how much He really does care about us and loves us. I love the imagery of an all pwerful God on His throne and my helpless cry reaching His ears and the majesty with which He rescues His children:

    6 In my distress I called to the LORD;
    I cried to my God for help.
    From his temple he heard my voice;
    my cry came before him, into his ears.

    7 The earth trembled and quaked,
    and the foundations of the mountains shook;
    they trembled because he was angry.

    8 Smoke rose from his nostrils;
    consuming fire came from his mouth,
    burning coals blazed out of it.

    9 He parted the heavens and came down;
    dark clouds were under his feet.

    10 He mounted the cherubim and flew;
    he soared on the wings of the wind.

    11 He made darkness his covering, his canopy around him—
    the dark rain clouds of the sky.

    12 Out of the brightness of his presence clouds advanced,
    with hailstones and bolts of lightning.

    13 The LORD thundered from heaven;
    the voice of the Most High resounded. [c]

    14 He shot his arrows and scattered the enemies ,
    great bolts of lightning and routed them.

    15 The valleys of the sea were exposed
    and the foundations of the earth laid bare
    at your rebuke, O LORD,
    at the blast of breath from your nostrils.

    16 He reached down from on high and took hold of me;
    he drew me out of deep waters.

    17 He rescued me from my powerful enemy,
    from my foes, who were too strong for me.

    18 They confronted me in the day of my disaster,
    but the LORD was my support.

    19 He brought me out into a spacious place;
    he rescued me because he delighted in me.

  4. 4 FancyPants
    May 17, 2006 at 12:11 am

    Wow. I needed to be reminded that God delights in me. Thank you.

  5. 5 Kat
    May 18, 2006 at 9:05 pm

    FancyPants,
    Here’s another great verse that I just love:

    Zephaniah 3:17

    17 The LORD your God is with you,
    He is mighty to save.
    He will take great delight in you,
    He will quiet you with his love,
    He will rejoice over you with singing.”


Leave a Reply

