19
May
06

Weekend Funnies

My kids crack me up. Here are a few excerpts…
Example 1

The other day we were sitting at dinner and my 3 year old was drinking her milk. I turned to her and challenged, "Sweetie, do you know how to say milk in Spanish?”

With a look that seemed to indicate that I had insulted her intelligence with such a simple question she replied slowly and clearly, “Milk…in…Spanish.”

Example 2

My youngest (23 months) LOVES birds. Whenever she sees one, she yells something that sounds a lot like,"Booootie!"

Today, we were in the car and she said,"Booootie! Woof! Woof!”

Hmmm….we need to work on that.

Example 3

Every morning my 3 year old and I have little routine when she wakes up in the morning. We eat frozen go-gurts, sit on the bean bag in my closet and “spend time with God” – we read her devotion book, sing a couple of songs and pray. It’s a really sweet time and it’s my favorite part of the day.

The other morning we were reading about God’s riches. His blessings that He gives to us. As I was reading about God’s riches, she jumped up and said, “ I know God’s riches. I go get them!”

I really had no idea what she might be talking about and I was speechless with laughter just anticipating what her three year old mind had determined were “God’s riches.”

A few minutes later, she walked back into the closet and proudly said, “See, God’s riches!”

In her hands she held two plastic toy – wrenches.

6 Responses to “Weekend Funnies”


  1. May 20, 2006 at 12:32 pm

    your stories crack me up! I love the ritual that you do with your daughter. I am going to have to copy that and start teaching my little daughter more about God.
    thanks for being a good example. I know that you may not think of yourself that way, but you are. I always get so much from stories about you and your children.

  2. May 20, 2006 at 5:09 pm

    Reminds me of that story where the Little boy thought God’s name was Andy. When asked why he sang “Andy walks with me Andy talks with me, Andy tells me I am his own…”

    Sweet and Adorable stories.

  3. 3 Amy
    May 20, 2006 at 10:11 pm

    Beautiful!! thanks for sharing.

  4. May 20, 2006 at 11:00 pm

    These are absolutely precious, Kat.

    I’d like to make an important point here, even though it sounds like you grasp it — in fact, I know you grasp it and appreciate it Kat, as you recently shared with us the pain of missing the motherly role in your own life, and how grateful that has made you for your current role as the mother. But if it can help anyone even the littlest bit, it bears repeating over and over…

    The things you’re experiencing now — drink deep, and enjoy every last second. Years ago, right after my daughter was born, my ex-wife left me in pursuit of the “wild life”, and even though our daughter grew up with me for much of her life, I didn’t really get to “enjoy” her in the ways you’re describing.

    Sure, there were fleeting moments, but there were people (and spiritual forces, I’m sure) who seemed to be continually aligned against me, against my daughter, against our peace and joy, and ultimately against our ability to enjoy the sort of healthy relationship you’re enjoying with your kids now. (There were ugly custody battles, meddling relatives, the whole thing…)

    I had this weird mindset that was continually with me back then, that robbed me of so much joy — basically it was “things will be so much better when…”, and there was always some elusive change that was going to make things all better. “Things will be much better when we get out of this apartment and have a house, things will be much better when I have my daughter full time, things will be so much better when I’m making a little more money so we can have nicer things, things will be so much better when…”. Well, you get the idea.

    It’s great to have hope for a better future. We all need that. But in a sense, Kat, you are like the little girl with her favorite teddy bear in her arms, snuggled between the sheets on a stormy night, rain pounding against the windows. You know what you have right now; it’s warm and close, and tangible. You don’t know whether tomorrow will bring ice cream, laughter, and and fun — or not. But whatever it brings, you can’t control it anyway, and you can’t know it tonight.

    Today, my daughter bought her first car. She’s so excited, she’s been waiting for a long time for the freedom and independence this will bring her. I’ll probably hardly ever see her any more, now that she has so many places to go, so many things to do, and so many people to see…

    So while you still can, hold that teddy bear close tonight, and let the rain fall outside. Tomorrow will worry about itself.

  5. 5 Kat
    May 21, 2006 at 8:25 am

    Mmmm….good advice Hammer. I think moms in my and operamom’s stage of life can never be reminded enough to savor these years. They can be so chaotic and it *is* easy to think, when the kids are in school it will be so much easier. Or, when they stop hanging on my legs all day it will be so much better, but really these are the things that I’ll treasure. These are the years that I can impact my children the most and I need to be so very intentional about laying down my own plans and investing in my children.

    I tend to be a dreamer and a big thinker. I told my husband yesterday that I need a few more bodies to go along with my brain because there are just so many things that I love doing and I have such grand plans for them all. But I feel like God’s been teaching me that right now, all those plans need to take a back seat. I need to focus all that energy on the job of being a stay at home mom. No one is going to think I’m important or powerful for being a stay-at-home mom, no one is going to say, “Wow, tell me about what you do.”, no one is going to introduce me to friends in a proud voice saying, “And she’s a stay-at-home-mom. Isn’t that cool?” No one is going to name drop that they know me and I’m a stay-at-home-mom.

    But I am shaping two little girls lives and the lives of generations to come. I need to embrace today and give everything I have to where God has placed me right now. Thanks for the reminder.

  6. 6 Kat
    May 21, 2006 at 1:52 pm

    Thanks for stopping by Amy!

    Operamom, I’m glad that my stories are an encouragement to you! I love reading your blog as well. I’m glad Seth made you blog. 🙂


Leave a Reply

