20
May
06

What Does It Mean To Be Free?

Something that's been on my heart lately is freedom. I feel like in the past 6 months or so, I've really experienced freedom. There's nothing weighing me down. There's just a sense of awe that God has a plan and I'm part of it.

I'm not so concerned with what people think, what I should be doing, what I shouldn't be doing or what others expectations are of me. My primary concern is to listen to God and to feel His hand on the small of my back as He gently leads me throughout my day.

John 8:32 says,"Then you will know the truth and the truth will set you free."

The truth is that all that matters in this life is God. Period.

The truth is that there is not one single thing that you can do today that is more important than sitting down and spending time with Him. Not because it's something you're supposed to do. Not because it's a rule or a requirement, but because the God of all creation wants to wrap His arms around you and tell you who you are. He wants to lift the burdens from your shoulders. He wants to give you purpose and vision. He wants you to live life today the way He meant for you to live…with passion and hope.

The truth is that you are precious. I have two little girls and I love them more than life itself. The idea that God sent His son to die for me is almost unfathomable, but what's even more unfathomable is that we so often don't walk in the freedom that His death provided.

The truth is that you ARE free. If you've chosen to follow Jesus, His death freed you from any chains that once held you. Maybe you're afraid to walk away, maybe you don't really believe that you can. I challenge you to write down a list of the things that you don't feel free from. Every morning when you pray, tell God that you need help believing you are free and walking in freedom from those things. Then as you face them throughout the day, recognize that you have a choice and ask God to help you make the right one.

There is an amazing freedom to be found in God and in that freedom there is such purpose and passion for even the most seemingly mundane moments in our lives.

So rise up. Walk with Jesus today and leave your chains behind.

"Shake off your dust;

Rise up, sit enthroned, O Jerusalem.

Free yourself from the chains on your neck,

O captive Daughter of Zion."

Isaiah 52:2

5 Responses to “What Does It Mean To Be Free?”


  1. May 22, 2006 at 3:38 pm

    Amen, Kat.

    I’m enjoying tremendous freedom in many areas of my life, where I never thought I’d be free. The Lord is good, and truly is faithful to transform our minds when we trust and seek Him.

  2. 2 Amy
    May 22, 2006 at 4:57 pm

    I’d like to second that amen!

    I’ve known freedom like never before in the same past six months time frame..freedom from my past, and freedom from what others expect. Freedom to know and enjoy Jesus. Freedom to love Him and others…when we let ourselves be bound, we miss out on so much of what life is meant to be!

  3. May 22, 2006 at 9:53 pm

    so great kat. I really have been trying every day to fill myself up with the spirit of God, and let Him heal me of all sadness, iniquity, anxiety, depression, self-pity—you know the usual…actually, I just had something happen that has tested my faith. i have never been tested before, and i am finally tapping into the life that I can live through Jesus, despite anything else. I AM LOVING IT. it is teaching me that he is all that I need. thanx for encouraging me even more.

  4. 4 Kat
    May 23, 2006 at 10:21 pm

    “when we let ourselves be bound, we miss out on so much of what life is meant to be!” Mmmm….so true Amy.

    Operamom, good for you! It’s so easy just to sit in that pit of “sadness, iniquity, anxiety, depression, self-pity” isn’t it? I think it is. But once you get out, you don’t ever want to go back. The freedom that Christ offers is really incredible. I’m so glad this post was an encouragement to you.

    “The Lord is good, and truly is faithful to transform our minds when we trust and seek Him.” I always heard this, Hammer, but now I *know* it.

  5. 5 free
    March 14, 2007 at 9:56 am

    Your words are truely impressive! May your life be filled with peace and tranquility. But i’ve always had that thought : If jesus has already freed us, what on earth are we doing then? What prevents a criminal from murdering, a thief from stealing, how would God punish a person raping a woman, or killing a child? If all our sins are forgiven and we are all destined for heaven, then what prevents us from doing so? If its just a matter of having faith in jesus and that he died on the cross saving all humanity from the sin of Adam that would lead us to heaven, then why shouldn’t any1 commit all kinds of sins then die peacefully & live happily in the hereafter? PLEASE help me out!


Leave a Reply

