22
May
06

He said, She Said

Her story:

We hadn't been married very long when it happened, I guess it was about 2 weeks. We'd come home from our honeymoon and we were working hard to get settled in our new apartment. We were chatting and laughing while hanging pictures and sifting through wedding presents, when my husband made an offhand comment about how he thought it would be sweet if I woke him up with a kiss. Being the great wife that I was (am) I filed that tidbit away in my brain for future reference and went on with the unpacking.

The future came about 10 hours later as the sun filtered through our cheap metal venetian blinds casting a horizontal grid on my sweet husband's sleeping face. I gently and quietly leaned over to give him a sweet kiss on his cheek and as I closed my eyes, suddenly, out of nowhere…

His story:

I've always thought it would be nice to be awakened with a kiss from my wife. I mentioned it to her when we got home from our honeymoon, but we were in the midst of unpacking so I didn't really know if she heard me or not. We continued moving in to our new apartment, moving boxes, moving furniture and getting everything squared away. I was pretty tired by the time I went to sleep and I slept like a rock.

Just before it happened, I remember barely stirring from my deep sleep. I was in that half asleep/half awake stage when I saw this dark shadow looming over me. What in the world?! What is that thing? Ghost?! Burglar?! Being the great husband that I was (am) I did what any great husband would do. I pulled my hand from under the pillow, reached over and gave it a good whap!

Her story:

Not what I was expecting.

His story:

Oops. Not what I was expecting.

Their story:

This is our favorite early marriage "What was I thinking" story to tell. We usually tell it jointly and he always slaps his hand in the air as an effective and hilarious visual aid.

I now have a nice football helmet on hand for waking him up with a kiss.

8 Responses to “He said, She Said”


  1. May 22, 2006 at 4:04 pm

    Hilarious!

    So, did it leave a mark?

  2. May 23, 2006 at 3:22 pm

    sounds like you have a lovely and fun marriage!

  3. May 23, 2006 at 5:58 pm

    I love the different perspective thing. Beki is always scared of anything moving at night because she doesn’t see very well. So while I think I’m being sweet by tucking her in, she thinks I’m a crazed murderer.

  4. 4 Kat
    May 23, 2006 at 10:07 pm

    Hammer, no mark, just an emotional scar and a fun story. 🙂

    Operamom, we do have a lovely and fun marriage! I’m so thankful for my sweet husband.

    Cach, when you say Beki doesn’t see well, does that mean that she’s near or far sighted? If so, I HIGHLY recommend Lasik. I had it done last year and it’s been INCREDIBLE. I had it done at Schiller Vision and Laser center over by the Marketplace. I’ve worn glasses since I was 6 and in the last few years, my eyes weren’t taking kindly to my contacts for more than 3 hours at a time, so it’s been so incredible not to have to worry about glasses or contacts or anything. I just wake up in the morning and go.

  5. May 24, 2006 at 1:55 am

    She wasn’t a candidate for lasik, but there’s another laser surgery that was just recently approved that she may be getting later this year. We’re hoping. ‘Cause she’s blind!

  6. May 24, 2006 at 2:05 pm

    Kat – I had LASIK a few years ago, too. I can’t even begin to describe how much I love it. I had worn contacts since I was in Jr. High, and had really grown tired of the whole routine. My eyes were also beginning to have bad effects from them, like being dry a lot and starting to get too many blood vessels in my eyeball’s surface around the contact lens area (or something like that, as I understand it).

    I tried glasses, but they always gave me a headache, and I could never get comfortable with them.

    I have become so accustomed to having 20/20 vision now, that it seems like I’ve had it all my life. But I haven’t forgotten that I didn’t, and I am grateful every day to be living in a time where such amazing technology is available.

    Cach – Be very careful to research the place that is going to do the surgery on your wife, and make sure it’s a well-proven technique done by skilled doctors before doing it. I don’t want to make it sound scary, and I certainly want to encourage you to get it done for her — but there are too many places that charge discount rates and work in large volume, often using doctors who are new to the field and are still perfecting their technique. Eyesite is a precious gift, and no amount of money saved is worth risking it unnecessarily. (I hope this isn’t coming across as preachy, and I’m sure you’re saying “Well, duh!”, but I’d rather speak my mind and give you a healthy sense of caution than say nothing and hear that something bad came of it. So there ya have it).

  7. May 24, 2006 at 4:49 pm

    Yeah, her surgery was actually approved a few years ago now, but we wanted to wait to make sure no doctor would be doing it for the first time on her!

  8. May 24, 2006 at 6:11 pm

    Good call. It’ll be well worth the wait.


Leave a Reply

