02
Jun
06

Resorting to a Higher Power…

The other day my 3 year old was in her room taking her nap. Just before she fell asleep, her pillow fell off the bed and onto the floor. For some reason she didn’t want to get down and get it, so she said loudly, “Mommy, can you get my pillow?”

Assuming that this was just another ploy to put off her nap, I continued with what I was doing. (Surely something highly productive like laundry, mopping or dishes. I mean I wasn’t on my computer or anything.)

Realizing that I wasn’t going to acquiesce, she then yelled, “Daddy, will get my pillow for me?” My husband works from home and his office is right next to her room so she could hear him and she knew he was in there. However, he held just as firm as I and stayed in his office.

What he heard next, though, sent him nearly running out of his office with a huge grin on his face searching for me.

Apparently, since neither her Mother nor Father were going to help her, she resorted to a higher power as is evident by her next plea,” God, will you help me get my pillow?”

9 Responses to “Resorting to a Higher Power…”


  1. 1 Marianne
    June 3, 2006 at 7:40 am

    Kat,

    Found my way here from Shlog. I love your Blog. πŸ™‚ All of it – couldn’t decide where to leave a comment!

    It’s great you guys are both at home catching all the cute and funny things your little one says. Especially your husband. Lots of Dads miss so much of that!

    Marianne

  2. 2 Kat
    June 3, 2006 at 8:16 am

    Marianne,
    Thanks for stopping by. I’m glad you’ve enjoyed it. I’ve just added a “Favorite Posts” list over at the top left on the menu, if you’re interested.

    Yes, it’s SUCH a blessing that my husband’s able to work from home. Even if he has to work late, he can just take a break for dinner and to help with our two girls’ bedtime routine, and then grab his laptop and sit on the couch with me while he works. We really cherish these years.

    My husband has a saying:
    “If I hear one girl crying, I stay in my office. If I hear two girls crying, I stay in my office. If I hear three girls crying, I know I need to get out of my office.”

  3. June 3, 2006 at 12:29 pm

    Just found your nice blog. Even if English is not my first language it is easy to read…. I will come back… be sure πŸ˜‰

  4. June 4, 2006 at 2:39 am

    Did it work? Or did she get her own pillow? I need to know if there’s a technique I haven’t tried yet to get out of doing stuff…

  5. 5 Kat
    June 4, 2006 at 2:30 pm

    Cach,
    I’m a little bitter that I wasn’t invited to Cafe Cappucino, but I’ll answer your question anyway. Because I’m really, really nice.

    Well, my husband and I went in and got her pillow for her. How could we not?

    So, the trick is to do REALLY cute and REALLY innocent stuff and always say nice things and, when appropriate, give lots of hugs. It works very well for our girls.

  6. 6 Kat
    June 4, 2006 at 2:30 pm

    Thanks for visiting zauberwolke2. Cool name. What does it mean?

  7. June 5, 2006 at 5:46 am

    Hi Kat! What does Zauberwolke mean? Hmm, I would translate it as “Magic Cloud” πŸ™‚ It is only a phantasy name made by myself πŸ˜‰ Nothing special or literatural!

  8. 8 ubertech
    June 5, 2006 at 3:53 pm

    as a parent of 4 I can use all the help I can get


Leave a Reply

