08
Jun
06

A Post From the Prehistoric Era

I'm at my parent's house and their internet connection has been acting up the past few days. Since I haven't been able to read my blogs or email I've had to do weird, old fashioned things like read the newspaper (apparently, in the old days, this is how people got their news), communicate with people via phone, and wonder indefinitely about the various, random questions that pop into my head because I cannot access Google for the answers.

While I miss my e-friends and I'm going through some internet withdrawals, I've rather enjoyed this visit to Prehistoric times. It's made me appreciate the simple things in life…

Like watching birds and enjoying the breeze and the warm sun. 

And free, reliable wifi.

Hopefully, I'll be back to full blogging power soon. Please stay tuned.

Here's a question to keep you busy:

What is your favorite book and why?

13 Responses to “A Post From the Prehistoric Era”


  1. June 8, 2006 at 11:32 pm

    That’s a freakin’ hard question, there! I can’t really claim a favorite as in, favorite of all time… but if I were pressed to say which book I’ve read recently that I really just enjoyed the heck out of, I’d say Colleen McCullough’s The First Man in Rome. And really, I enjoyed the whole series immensely. I highly reccomend it. Especially if you like great historical fiction.

  2. 2 Kat
    June 9, 2006 at 8:24 am

    Cach,
    What is it about?

    Yes, it’s a hard question, but maybe I should be more descriptive. What book could you read over and over? What book do you want to read when your sick and stuck in bed? What book makes you want to stay up all night reading it? What book brings back memories of places you’ve never been?

    My all time favorite book is actually a series of books. My favorites book(s) is the Anne of Green Gables series. LOVE IT. I love the imagery, I love Anne’s spunkiness and flair for the dramatic. It makes me want to visit Prince Edward Island someday.

    Have any of you read the Anne series? Now, I know most of you who read this blog are guys, so perhaps you can’t relate, but here’s a shout out to Fancy and Operamom and any other girls who read this blog.

  3. June 9, 2006 at 9:41 am

    I know it’s not what you’re looking for here, and it sounds like a cop out, but I’d have to say the Bible. I’ve had a strongly revitalized interest in reading it for some time now, and frankly there are enough stories and enough information in there to keep a fellow pretty busy. I know that could sound self-righteous, but I hope it doesn’t come across that way. I’m just being honest.

    The last book I read was “No Perfect People Allowed” by John Burke. It was very challenging, and I know it’s somewhat controversial in the church right now, but I enjoyed it very much. The Lord definitely spoke to me about a lot of ideas and attitudes I have about “Christian culture” and the church, and I have come to accept that I need to let Him change a lot of things inside me that are cultural attitudes, not from Him.

    In general, I haven’t been much of a book reader for a long time. I’ve been more of an on-line reader for many years, and that does include books as well (e-books, as it were). So if it turns out that computer screens fry your eyeballs as you grow older, then I’m in a world of hurt at some point in the future. I guess all my reading then will be audio books.

  4. June 9, 2006 at 9:45 am

    Oh, and about the Anne series, I have not read any of them, but I believe my wife has and she also expresses a love for them like you have. Unlike me, she’s quite the paper-book worm.

  5. June 9, 2006 at 9:50 am

    I must admit “pride and prejudice.” yes, another woman bites the dust. have you seen the 5 hour A and E version with colin firth? awesome. what do you think of the new movie?

  6. June 9, 2006 at 9:51 am

    chaotic hammer, I gotta read that book! that sounds great.

  7. 7 Kat
    June 9, 2006 at 2:02 pm

    Operamom,
    I never read Pride and Prejudice until a few years ago and I LOVED it. Had I grown up reading it, it may have usurped the Anne series. After I finished it I immediately started hunting for the A and E version, but there wasn’t a place in town that had it. I was very bummed. I still have yet to see it. I do have a friend that owns it, but 5 hours is hard to come by as a stay at home mom who uses her free time to create web sites for soft rock stars.

    Every year, my husband sends me on a Mommy weekend, where I go to a hotel and sleep in, watch tv, work out, read and play on my computer, so perhaps next year I’ll dedicate it to watching the A and E series.

    Being deprived of any film version of Pride and Prejudice, I was VERY excited when the new version came out and I loved it. I know a lot of die hard fans don’t like it, but I thought it was great. There were a few scenes that were a little cheesy or slow (as if the cinematographer and editor got into a scuffle and the cinematographer won), but overall I really enjoyed it.

    What’s your take?

    Also, have you read/watched the Anne series?

  8. June 9, 2006 at 7:00 pm

    The First Man in Rome, part of the Masters of Rome series, is about the decline of the Roman Republic and the rise of the Roman Empire. Specifically it begins about ten years before the great Julius Caesar was born and follows the lives and careers of Gaius Marius, Pompey the Great, Lucius Cornelius Sulla, and Caesar’s family. Midway through the series it focuses in on Caesar’s life and career. One of the most thoroughly researched pieces of historical fiction I’ve ever read. And McCullough is such a good writer that her characters absolutely come alive. Great reading.

    Never read or saw Anne of Green Gables. Sorry… that whole man thing.

  9. 9 Kat
    June 10, 2006 at 9:30 am

    Cach,
    Ooooh. Sounds very interesting. I’ll have to give it a go.

    Regarding Anne of Green Gables, has your wife read it? If she has and it is a childhood favorite, I have a tip for you. Read it without telling her. You will win vast amounts of “good husband” points.

    A few months ago, I went into my husband’s office (he works from home) and there he was lying on his couch reading Anne of Green Gables. He said that if he’s going to live in house with three girls, he’d better get to know more about them and Anne seemed like a good place to start.

    He enjoyed it and read the whole series. He liked the movies too.

    Now, lest you think ill of my sweet husband, I need to clarify that he’s not some wimpy girly man. He’s a man’s man. He watches John Wayne movies, he loves sports and he says one of his favorite ways to relax is to chop wood (not that there’s much need of that here in Central Texas).

    So, I don’t know if Beeki likes likes Anne, but if she does….this is a surefire way to have her singing your praises. 🙂

  10. 10 Seth Ward
    June 10, 2006 at 2:28 pm

    My two favorite books are Huckelberry Finn and “A Confederacy of Dunces” by John Kennedy Toole.

    I am about to blog about them!!!! so I’ll save your space. I will say that A Confederacy of Dunces is the funniest book I have EVER read. Pure Genius. It and Huck Finn are the only books I have ever had to stop reading for the sole purpose of laughter. I literally would have to put down Confederacy and have bouts of laughter for 5 minutes at a time.

    If you ever pick it up it takes you a few chapters to get into the humor but once you do…. good lord!

  11. 11 FancyPants
    June 11, 2006 at 11:22 pm

    I’m late in commenting here, but…my fav right now are the Harry Potters. I could just read them all the time. But currently I’m reading the Hobbit and I LOVE IT!

    And OpMom….I just bought Pride and Prejudice, finally. I can’t wait to start it.

    Cach, does your book touch on his marriage to Cleopatra? Last summer I read the most incredibly long historical fiction book about Cleopatra by Margaret George. It was the story of her whole life and it was really good, and incredibly depressing as well. But nevertheless, I liked it. I cry at all the Harry Potter books so of course I would cry at the most sad ending to a human being’s life ever.

  12. 12 FancyPants
    June 11, 2006 at 11:24 pm

    Oh, and Kat! I used to watch the Anne of Green Gables movies ALL THE TIME when I was a little girl. And I think I remember reading one, but I’m not sure. I loved those movies, though. Maybe I’ll have to try the books! But, I absolutely must finish The Hobbit, then Pride and Prejudice. Thanks for the tip!

  13. June 12, 2006 at 8:05 am

    Seth – I’ll have to add those to my list. I’m especially intrigued my “A Confederacy of Dunces” – I look forward to reading your blog about it.

    Fancy – I’ve neither read the Harry Potter books or the Hobbit. Do they have pictures? I don’t read books without pictures. 😉

    You MUST read the Anne books. I have the books on tape (there isn’t a cd version) as read by Megan Follows (the girl who played Anne in the movies) and we listen to them everytime we go on a long road trip. Even though my girls are only 2 and 4, they LOVE listening to it. I don’t imagine that they understand half of it, but if a tape ends and I don’t put the new one in fast enough, my 2 year old plummets to the “depths of despair” and cries, “Momma! Geen Gabo! Geen Gabo!!”


Leave a Reply

