09
Jun
06

You Can Say You “Knew Me When”

I am going to be the coolest mom at playgroup this week.

I realized that I use the word "cool" too much. I'd like to replace that "last millenium" adjective with a better one. I'm taking suggestions. Please help my vocabulary.

16 Responses to “You Can Say You “Knew Me When””


  1. June 9, 2006 at 4:17 pm

    No way. “Cool” is always a cool word. It has survived many changes in cultural trends, and it has seen many imitators come and go. “Cool” still rocks. 🙂

    And by the way, if you have any technical questions at all, need some sort of “sounding board” to bounce some of your ideas against, or just want opinions or ideas from a fellow techie, I hope you’ll feel free to ask me.

    I’ve actually built many web servers from the ground up (including the hardware, although I don’t think that applies in this case, as I assume you’re using a hosting service), and have done extensive HTML coding, MySQL, PostgreSQL, perl scripts, and general web server configuration. It might be that none of this applies to your needs, but just wanted to let you know that you don’t have to bear the burden alone if you need any kind of assistance.

  2. June 9, 2006 at 4:20 pm

    Is something weird going on with your blog here? I add comments, and above those comments, it says “No Comments”. Hmmm…

  3. June 9, 2006 at 4:22 pm

    Ugh. Never mind. After the second comment, it now says “2 Comments”. I guess it’s just the first one that doesn’t change the heading. Sorry to hog all your comment space here.

  4. June 9, 2006 at 7:33 pm

    Some possibly alternatives:

    1. Fantrasmitistic (Admittedly a tad bulky, but it definitely has potential)

    2. Froof
    Example: “Jesus is the froofiest guy ever!” (Very progressive. Maybe a bit too ahead of it’s time.)

    3. Bologna (Pronounced the way it’s spelled. It may not be the best replacement for “Cool” but it’s still WAY fun to say.)

    Anyway, those are just some rough ideas off the top of my head. You don’t have to go with any of them if you don’t want to. 😉

    Btw, found your site through Marianne’s blog… just browsing though. It looks awesome!! Is WordPress a free webhoster? Ah… nevermind… I can just check….

  5. 5 Eric
    June 9, 2006 at 10:29 pm

    Hmmm… turns out some people think “froof” is a real word. I hope it doesn’t mean anything innapropriate in slang…..

  6. 6 Kat
    June 10, 2006 at 7:33 am

    Hammer,
    Thanks for the offer. It sounds like you’re even more techie than I am. I deal mostly in the land of php/mysql cms’s, xhtml and css. I don’t do much on the server level other than ftping stuff and chmoding files. I’ll definitely bug you should I run into any issues. Thanks!

    Eric,
    Thanks for stopping by! I love you’re suggestions. They’re certainly unique! I’ll have to try them out today and see how it goes. 🙂

    By the way, WordPress.com is a free blog hosting service/system. Primarily, it’s a downloadable blog script, which you can download at http://www.wordpress.org. But they also have a hosted service where you can sign up for a blog and they’ll host it. It’s not very customizable, but it’s very simple. You can create your blog at http://www.wordpress.com. Let me know if you have any other questions.

  7. 7 Marianne
    June 10, 2006 at 7:37 pm

    Kat,

    You are very cool. Not sure there really is another word for it! 🙂 So cool (and, yes, I became aware of your coolness from reading Shlog!) that I added you right away (it’s called linking, right?) to the new column I FINALLY figured out how to add on my Blogger Blog. That was really hard for me to figure out!

    But, I so apologize for not following proper blog ettiquette 😦 because I believe the right thing to do would have been to ask you first. I got excited when the column actually showed up – then I wanted to keep adding sites/blogs to check that the code was actually working. I was amazed every time one really showed up! I’m easily challenged. 🙂

    Anyway, again, you definitely seem like one cool mom. 🙂

    Marianne

  8. 8 Seth Ward
    June 11, 2006 at 1:44 pm

    I lke the word brilliant. Fantastic is a nice change up as well.

    if that doesn’t work there is always Will Ferrel’s word “scrumtrelescent”

    Amber uses the word Rad. I just cant bring myself to do it even though it is coming back in… finally.

  9. 9 Kat
    June 11, 2006 at 10:20 pm

    Marianne,
    You didn’t break any blog etiquette rules as far as I know. I think it’s pretty much always ok to add someone to your blog roll. It’s quite the compliment. 🙂

    Now that I have reliable internet access I look forward to reading more of your blog.

    Seth,
    Oooo…I like brilliant. I’m going to start incorporating that one into my vocab. I still need an all purpose “cool” equivalent, though. I’m not sure if “rad” will work for me. I’m not certain I can pull that one off.

  10. 10 Marianne
    June 11, 2006 at 10:37 pm

    Okay, cool. See I say it too. 🙂 But I’ve been trying to think of an alternate and for some reason the word “tubular” keeps coming to mind. I think that just means I’ve lived in Florida too long. And that I know too many words from the 80’s.

  11. June 12, 2006 at 12:58 am

    Maybe you can just test out “rad” for a day. And then you can see if you like it. I promise, it is one of the greatest words to say. You can’t help but feel extremely excited about whatever you are describing as “rad.”

    Seth used to get embarrased when I said the word “rad.” Especially when I said it very loudly around alot of people. Which was often. Then he heard my brother say it, and THEN C-Hammer busted out with the word. So, he’s coming around…finally.

    Try it! Try it! I promise, if you don’t like it after a day, I’ll never pressure you to say it, ever again. =-)

  12. June 12, 2006 at 7:54 am

    Marianne – tubular. Hmm… this one intrigues me. Very ’80’s. I might have to try it out.

    Amber – I’ll do it. I’ll try rad out for a few days and see how it goes. I’m certain it’s great word….I’m just not sure I’m “rad” enough to pull off it’s reincarntion in the new millenium. Pehaps when you and Seth come to Waco and I hear it used in action, I’ll be able to best utilize this fine word. Is there a certain facial expression, hand gesture or intonation that needs to accompany “rad” in order to fully communicate the depth of it’s meaning?

  13. June 12, 2006 at 10:47 am

    “Rad” totally rocks. 🙂

    It’s funny to hear that Seth was actually embarrassed by Amber saying “rad”, because many of the people I knew in California said the word pretty regularly, and we never thought twice about it.

    Seth – Join us… join us… use the Rad Force…

    Remember that “rad” is derived from “radical”, and “radical” is a very bold and compelling word. Jesus was considered a “radical”.

    Also, Kat, you could sometimes say “rocks”, as demonstrated by me above. When something “rocks”, it is pretty “cool”, right?

    You’ve already admitted outright that you’re a weird girl. You play soccer, enjoy techno-geekery, and all that, so add a few totally unexpected words to your vocabulary, and you’re the complete “splash of cold water in the face” to the world around you. 🙂

  14. June 12, 2006 at 7:37 pm

    Well, usually when saying “rad” you have to apply enough emphasis to the word so that it sticks out. So people know you’re saying it completely on purpose and you don’t care what anyone thinks about you saying it. It really shouldn’t be a word said under the breath or sheepishly. It helps if you use a hard “r” at the beginning of the word, and then let the word just come blaring out of your mouth. Yeah, try that. You’ll find that your whole day is more exciting than before.

  15. June 13, 2006 at 8:00 am

    Today is “rad” day. I’m officially testing it out and I’ll let you know how it goes. This started off as just a silly comment about my use of the word “cool” but it’s actually quite fun to use new adjectives – especially ones that I normally might not use…like rad. It just adds a little sparkle to the day.


Leave a Reply

