11
Jun
06

Back to the Future

I'm back in my nice comfy wifi enabled home. Ahhh….

My little family just took a 6 day vacation to my parent's house. They took a trip to Chicago and so we spent the week at their beautiful house. It's my grandmother's old home and I just adore it. There's a gorgeous pool in the backyard that overlooks a resaca (a man made river of sorts) and it's right on the golf course. To make it even more ideal, my parents stocked their freezer for us. Popsicles. Ice cream. Yummy food. Heaven?

It was a wonderful, relaxing trip. South Padre Island is only 30 minutes from my parent's house, so we spent a day there as well. The girls LOVED playing in the ocean and making "drip" sand castles. On our way back home to Waco, we stopped by Sea World in San Antonio and spent a few hours in the "Lost Lagoon" water park. The girls were exhausted by the time we got back in the car and slept soundly the rest of the drive home.

It's funny how "vacations" can completely wear you out isn't it? 

Well, that's a summary of the good part of our vacation. I'll share some stories about the bad and ugly parts of our vacation tomorrow after I've recupperated.

Do you have a favorite vacation?  

4 Responses to “Back to the Future”


  1. June 12, 2006 at 1:01 am

    NEW YORK!

    And AUSTRIA!

    And my parent’s house. I’ll say it, too. Ahhh…… There’s nothing like it.

  2. June 12, 2006 at 5:17 am

    Sweden and Austria 🙂
    Nothing better than Sweden 🙂

  3. June 12, 2006 at 10:59 am

    I’ve got a lot of great vacation memories, too.

    I know what you mean about returning from vacation exhausted. That’s always been the norm for the vacations I’ve been on — it’s funny when “getting back to work” is like a relaxing return to normalcy, but I think that’s part of what makes it a “vacation”.

    “Vacation” doesn’t have to mean that you do absolutely nothing, though I’ve done one or two of those, and they can be great if that’s what you’re needing. What often makes it a vacation is the excitement of getting away from your normal routine. It can be revitalizing, adrenaline-pumping, exciting, thrilling — and hence an escape from the daily ruts we get into. It’s like an adventure that you actually get to go on yourself, instead of just watching on TV or in movies.

  4. 4 Kat
    June 13, 2006 at 8:05 am

    Amber and zauberwolke2 – you all are certainly the world travelers. I’ve never been to Austria – just France and Germany. I adored Europe and I can’t wait to go back. Perhaps in a few years when our girls are older and an 8 hour flight doesn’t sound like torture we’ll go back.

    C-Hammer – you’re right, a vacation doesn’t need to be relaxing. In fact, my favorite vacations are those when we’ve gone hiking or biking or swimming so much that I’m nice and sore and have lots of fun and exciting stories to tell.


Leave a Reply

