14
Jun
06

My New Word!!!

As some of you may know, I’ve been looking for a new word. I’ve found that I use the word “cool” far too much and I’m ready for a change. “Cool” has served me well the past 30 years, but it’s time to move on.

Many of you, including Seth, Amber, Chaotic Hammer, Marianne and Eric all had great suggestions such as:

  • Froof
  • Bologna
  • Rad
  • Tubular
  • Brilliant
  • Scrumtrelescent
  • Rocks

I do hope to include all these words into my vocabulary. I especially liked rad, which made it to the final round, but ultimately I decided on a word that was inspired by FancyPants.

Ironically, she didn’t even offer a suggestion, but as I was reading through the comments and I noticed that FancyPants had *not* suggested a word, a moment of brilliance came to me:

“Fancy”

That’s my new word. What do you think? I love it. I think it’s rad. No one really uses it, but it’s not completely odd either. I’ve used it a couple of times and I’ve found it to be fun an refreshing to say.
If you’re feeling bored with your current adjectives, I am willing to license the use of fancy to you for a nominal fee… Seriously, try it out. It’s fun and different.

Let me know what you think. 

13 Responses to “My New Word!!!”


  1. June 14, 2006 at 3:40 pm

    Kat – Personally, I can’t use “fancy”. It has — how shall we say — less than desirable connotations ’round here.

    There was a Chris Elliot movie called “Cabin Boy” in the 90’s, and I think my wife and I watched it on video several years ago.

    When Elliot’s character finds himself on a ship full of rugged pirates, they refer to him as a “fancy boy”, because he’s a wimpy, city-boy, metrosexual type whose sensibilities seem quite “feminine” to the pirates.

    When he hears “fancy-boy”, he thinks it’s some sort of compliment (he’s playing an idiot in the movie, a typical Chris Elliot character) and so he smiles and says “Yeah, that’s right, I’m a fancy boy!”, not realizing they are making fun of him.

    My wife and I have a little white cat with a pink nose (he appears on my Blogger profile pic) who we call a “fancy-boy” because we’ve had him since he was a tiny little kitten, and he’s lived a very sheltered life, and gets scared at the silliest things. In other words, he’s kind of a wuss.

    So if I said “fancy” to describe something, it just wouldn’t come across right around here. 🙂

    I can also imagine a lot of things that if you called them “fancy”, it would sound like you meant “expensive”, “complicated”, or “gay” rather than “cool”. It also sounds sort of sarcastic.

    “That’s a really fancy ’57 Chevy!”

    “My brother is pretty fancy.”

    “That’s a pretty fancy shirt you have there.”

    “Skateboarding is totally fancy!”

    I dunno… But hopefully it will work well for you. Maybe you could give us examples of you using it in real-life scenarios to take the place of “cool” or other similar adjectives.

    That would be really fancy.

  2. 2 Marianne
    June 14, 2006 at 8:39 pm

    I was excited about it until I read Chaotic Hammer’s comment. Hmmm, didn’t think of that. Could be very un-fancy in some situations.

    But I can see where it’d be soooo fun to say on it’s own:
    “Marianne, are you going to the concert?”
    I answer, “Of course.”
    “FANCY!!!”, you exclaim.

    That sounds completely rad.

  3. 3 Kat
    June 14, 2006 at 8:44 pm

    Marianne and C-Hammer,
    Yes, I agree. I admit that C-Hammer’s comments took the wind out of my sails a bit, but I believe it’s for the greater good of mankind.

    I think I got excited about “Fancy” without thoroughly testing it. It may need to be used in conjunction with rad or perhaps there is another word out there that I have yet to consider…

    I think this will be an on going project.

  4. June 14, 2006 at 10:32 pm

    Oh no!

    The last thing I ever want to do is take the wind out of your sails, Kat! You’re a rock star and a hero in my book (and I hope it doesn’t surprise you to hear that I really mean that, I’m not just being silly).

    I just meant that it wouldn’t work for me. Don’t give up on account of me. I’m sure you could make it work for you.

    D’oh!

  5. 5 FancyPants
    June 15, 2006 at 12:15 am

    Well, I know ONE thing that it describes quite well! A great looking pair of pants!

    KAT! I’m so honored that my name inspired you. I love saying this word, too. There’s something silly yet sophisticated about it.

    I think, when I start my own blog, which might actually be pretty soon, that the title of the blog will be….

    Footloose and Fancy Free

    And on that blog, we can find creative ways to use this word, making all sorts of fancy exclamations. Marianne – like yours! What a great way to use the word “fancy.”

    Let me know how this goes. This is so rad.

  6. June 15, 2006 at 1:04 am

    I support use of the word ‘fancy.’

    I also support use of the phrase ‘Great Scott!’

  7. June 15, 2006 at 8:46 am

    FancyPants – When you said that blog title, it reminded me of my senior class motto the year we graduated. For those of you who didn’t realize that I’m really old, prepare to be shocked:

    Fancy ‘n’ Free in ’83

    I can’t believe I actually remember that. I was somewhat antisocial in high school, and I thought that was the lamest high school class motto in the history of the world. Oops. (Try and picture a hardcore rock drummer with hair halfway down his back reciting such a cutesy phrase, and maybe you’ll get an idea of what I mean. It’s nothing personal)

    Cach – I second the use of “Great Scott!”. I realize that your name might have a little something to do with that — and that is also the case with me (except it’s my last name). 🙂

  8. 8 Seth Ward
    June 15, 2006 at 1:00 pm

    I would also like to share a few fun phrases that have entered my vocab.

    I love food. When I used eat somethng REALLY good I had the hardest time expressing my feelings until I ran upon the perfect phrase.

    Imagine taking a bite of blessedly scrumtrelescent pecan pie, then you look astonished and say “Oh MY YUMMY” It works like a charm.

    Also, “Shiver me timbers” is a good term to say when you see something that you must have like the new Camaro.

    Also, this one is a bit sacrelgious, but when you are following a very slow driver, look exasperataed and say “Jumpin Joseph and Mary” (i stole this one from the late Chris Farley)

  9. June 15, 2006 at 8:08 pm

    Ooh… I don’t think I could ever bring myself to say “fancy” as frequently as I use the word “cool” (estimate: 867,304,627 times a day) but I think “brilliant” might work. For me, at least.

    I’ve been thinking about adopting a British accent, anyway. This would be the perfect opportunity to complete the effect. I may even get one of the cool monocles and maybe a pith helmet.

    YES!! This is awesome!!!

  10. June 16, 2006 at 10:09 am

    I would just like to say that your use of rad in the fifth paragraph there was wonderful.

  11. June 16, 2006 at 12:38 pm

    “Fancy” in replacement for cool u mean ??!!?? it wud be rad i agree but at first wud sound wierd and wud take time to get used to

    But best of luck anywys

  12. June 16, 2006 at 1:20 pm

    C-hammer – no, no, it was a good reality check. I tend to get excited about things easily without thoroughly thinking them through and I think I’ve realized that “cool” is irreplaceable. It’s too universal. However, I’ve decided that instead of actually “replacing” “cool” I’m just going to lessen it’s importance in my adjective arsenal. In other words, I’m going to increase my use of “Fancy” as well as my use of “rad” “brilliant” and perhaps “Oh My YUMMY!” and “Great Scott!” 🙂

    My plan is to focus on a new word each week and incorporating the use of each into my vocabulary. I’ll report on any interesting and/or awkward results.

    FancyPants – Yes! You must start a blog….soon. I have nothing to link to when I write your name. At the very least, you could be like c-hammer and have a blog but only write every 150 years. 🙂

    Amber – thanks. I thought you would be proud.

    Eric – yes, I think that ‘Fancy” is harder for those of the male gender to incorporate into their vocabulary. Keep us up to date on your Brit conversion. 🙂

    Leon – thanks for stopping by! Yes, it will definitely take time to get used to it…


Leave a Reply

