16
Jun
06

I’m Moving!!

Ok, really, my blog is moving – not me. I have a new domain name: http://www.thesecretlifeofkat.com, my own server space, a new design and big plans.

I know what you're saying:

"What? A new word and now a new website too?! Kat, are you going through some kind of geeky midlife crisis?"

Fear not, my friends. While I've loved every minute of my time here at wordpress.com, I just need more control. I need to see better stats. I need to control the layout and be able to add plugins and modules and whatever pops into my crazy little brain. Basically, I need to be able to tweak.

Right now, the new site is pretty basic and it's very much under construction, but over the next couple of weeks, I'll be "tweaking" it and making it my own. I'm not sure if I like the design, yet. I was in the middle of reading Anne of Green Gables again and so it's pretty girly and subdued. Weigh in and let me know what you think.

So…sometime in the next few weeks, I will be moving this site. I'll be bugging you to update your links and bookmarks when the time comes and I hope you'll make the move with me.

Oh, and if you want me to add you to my blogroll there, just leave a comment with your site address.

6 Responses to “I’m Moving!!”


  1. June 16, 2006 at 3:24 pm

    Kat – Wow. That’s pretty neat. I like the layout over there.

    A few quick observations and some questions…

    Did you use some sort of generic import/export function to get the articles from here over there? I ask because there are some strange (but minor) formatting issues over there. For example, the article titles and some of the contents of “Resorting to a Higher Power” have places where question marks have replaced quotes or apostrophes.

    I think I do like that the Comments start at the end of articles instead of the beginning, but after leaving here and going over there, it was a little confusing and took some getting used to.

    And it looks like the smiley characters have been replaced with the word “grin”

    And some of the formatting, like on “Replace Me”, was lost (like paragraph breaks).

    Anyway, I hope these don’t sound like complaints. They’re just observations. These are probably just side-effects of the way the import/export parser does its thing.

    The new site is cool! πŸ™‚

  2. 2 Kat
    June 16, 2006 at 3:36 pm

    C-hammer – Oh my yes! I have tons of work to do before the site will be ready for primetime.

    This post was more like the pictures people show their friends of the new fixer upper house they just bought. I have lots of “repainting” to do.

    Thanks for the thoughts though. I’ll certainly need your keen eye before I switch over to make sure I haven’t missed anything.

  3. June 16, 2006 at 4:07 pm

    I notice that you have the Preview function for comments over there. That’s cool. πŸ™‚

    Which plug-in are you using for that? I think there are a few different WordPress plug-ins that provide Comment Preview.

    I hope you’ll remove all my stupid comments over there. I’m just playing and testing, like you. πŸ™‚

  4. 4 Kat
    June 16, 2006 at 7:24 pm

    C-Hammer,
    I’m actually not using WordPress. I’m using Expression Engine. I think you’d like it. Since you’re a techie, you shouldn’t have any problem setting it up. It’s much more complex than WordPress to set up, but it’s also a lot more robust. I’ve used it for years on another site I have.

    They now have a free version called Expression Engine Core. The other thing I like about EE is that the support is top notch. The average response time to my questions in the forums is about 5 minutes. Crazy. I wish all product support was that quick.

    If you’re interested, their site is here.

    Sure I’ll delete your comments from the other blog. Please do feel free to play around though and let me know if you have any ideas or suggestions. I plan to use polls and have some flickr integration as well. We’ll see…

  5. June 17, 2006 at 9:24 pm

    wherever you go, I shall find you! did that sound creepy or what?

  6. 6 Marianne
    June 18, 2006 at 9:41 pm

    Kat,

    Like the new site and can’t wait to see what you do with it!


Leave a Reply

